Certification for Professional Contractors and Truss Fabricators

Your Commitment to Excellence Has Our Full Support.

The SFIA Contractor Certification Program enables professional contractors and truss fabricators to distinguish themselves by demonstrating proficiency in cold-formed steel (CFS) framing. Certified SFIA contractors receive recognition for continuous improvement, education and training, and quality control systems – all of which are independently verified via a written test and rigorous observation of CFS installation techniques.

Certified contractors adhere to the SFIA Quality Management System and Code of Ethics, which ultimately lower costs and speeds approvals. They are provided with marketing resources and promotional support to increase their reach to design professionals, general contractors and owners looking for proven CFS expertise.  Click the box below to see who has already taken the steps to demonstrate their commitment to excellence by becoming a Certified Contractor or Truss Installer

 Find a Certified Contractors


A single certification is offered for truss fabricators, whereas two separate contractor certifications are available for nonstructural and structural expertise. Structural certification automatically includes nonstructural certification. Need more information? Click for Commonly Asked Questions or you can contact Holly Mellinger at [email protected] with specific questions. Otherwise, continue reading below for program details and the application process,

Eligibility - Steel Framing Industry Association members who are professional CFS contractors and truss fabricators are eligible to become certified. If you are not currently an SFIA member, we invite you to JOIN NOW to take advantage of this national program. Certified contractors (but not Truss fabricators) also must be members in good standing of the Association of the Walls and Ceilings Industry.  In addition, all applications must be approved by the SFIA Executive Director.

Benefits - SFIA-certified contractors and truss fabricators become part of a national referral program targeted to design professionals, CFS and component manufacturers, specifiers, general contractors, and owners. In addition, the SFIA provides marketing and promotional tools that can use to expand their reach and create lasting partnerships in the construction industry.

Process - Certification is a straightforward process designed to measure your CFS experience and expertise.  Certification is valid for one year from the date of enrollment, and can be extended on an annual basis.  The steps in the process include:

    1. Completing a program application and paying the program fees.
    2. Taking a comprehensive online exam.
    3. Providing safety and quality program documentation.
    4. Undergoing an on-site observation of your CFS skills and adherence to standards by a licensed engineer.

Contractor Certification Enrollment
Truss Fabricator Enrollment


Step 1: Enroll by filling out the application and submitting appropriate fees

Applicants must complete an application form and submit the application fees to start the enrollment process, The application identifies a designated responsible individual and includes signed affidavits that the company will adhere to the SFIA Code of Ethics and has both a Safety and Qualtiy Assurance program in place. The same application is used for CFS Contractor Certification and for Truss Fabrication Certification.

Step 2: Take your online proficiency exam
Upon approval of an application and payment of enrollment fees, enrollees are then required to pass an online examination that tests knowledge of cold-formed steel products and installation practices. Only the designated responsible individual may take the structural, nonstructural or truss fabricator exam. SFIA will provide you with the instructions for accessing the exam after your application is approved and fees are received.

The certification exams require a strong working knowledge of cold-formed steel construction principles and techniques. The following are recommended reference materials to prepare:

Step 3: Schedule your project observation
Applicants must demonstrate proficiency in the type of installation for which they are applying. This skill is documented by a sealed on-site observation report prepared by a licensed professional engineer in accordance with the appropriate category below.

Observation Protocol – Nonstructural ▸
Observation Protocol – Structural ▸
Observation Protocol – Truss Fabrication ▸

Step 4: Maintain your certificationAll certifications must be renewed every two years. The designated responsible individual (DRI) at each certified site must confirm their status and obtain a new Letter of Observation within three months of the certification term. There is a 30-day grace period for renewal and exams.

One of the principles of the SFIA program is that Certified Contractors and Truss Fabricators are committed to continuous improvement. For this reason, all renewing companies must submit a record that documents a minimum of five hours in additional training in project management, installation or other educational courses that are pertinent to cold-formed steel framing and construction.  Continual education (CE) credits are not required for initial certification.

Program Fees  
Truss Fabricator Certification
$1000 for first location
  $300 for each additional location
Contractor Certification  
Nonstructural Certification Only
$600 for first location


$200 for each additional location

Structural Certification (Includes nonstructural)
$750 for first location
  $300 for each additional location


Frequantly Ask Questions

*For information about special pricing for multiple offices, or for a mixture of structural and nonstructural certifications, please contact us

Contractor Certification Enrollment
Truss Fabricator Enrollment